Decatur County Schools

Our School System
The Decatur County School system consists of four SACS accredited schools, Decaturville Elementary, Parsons Elementary, Decatur County Middle School, and Decatur County Riverside High School. The system is governed by a nine member Board of Education. Administration of the system is facilitated by the Director of Schools and his staff. The instructional staff is composed of 145 teachers and administrators of which more than eighty have Masters Degrees or more.

The goal of Decatur County Schools is to help students prepare themselves for a successful life as a productive member of society. The system has implemented programs from pre-kindergarten to high school-college dual credit to encourage students and enhance the curriculum. The focus of Decatur County Schools is student centered and data driven. Extensive research is ongoing on all students and programs in order to provide the very best possible education for all students. Expectations at all levels are high and support is provided when needed.

Decatur County Schools is very fortunate to have a supportive community. Many persons and businesses contribute time and other resources to enhance the endeavors of our students. Through the Ayers Foundation, teachers have been able to receive Masters Degrees at no tuition costs and all graduating seniors receive scholarships to post-secondary.

The Decatur County Board of Education is an equal opportunity employer.

Decatur County Public School Addresses and Links:

Decatur County Board of Education
Chris Villaflor, Director
59 West Main Street, P.O. Box 369
Decaturville, TN 38329
Phone: (731) 852-2391
Fax: (731) 852-2960
Little Panthers Preschool
Dr. Lyndi King
Phone: (731) 852-2391
Decaturville Elementary
Melinda Thompson, Principal
820 South West Street
Decaturville, TN 38329
Phone: (731) 852-4616
Grades PreK-4
Parsons Elementary
Scott King, Principal
182 West 4th St
Parsons, TN 38363
Phone: (731) 847-7317
Grades K-4
Decatur County Middle School
Keith Walker, Principal
2740 Highway 641 South
Parsons TN 38363
Phone: (731) 847-6510
Grades 5-8
Riverside High School
Hugh Smith, Principal
4250 Highway 641 South
Decaturville, TN 38329
Phone: (731) 852-3941
Grades 9-12
UT Martin Parsons Center
Dr. Kelli Deere, Director
975 Tennessee Avenue North
Parsons, TN 38363
Phone: (731) 847-3880
TCAT Crump – Parsons Extension
256 W. 9th Street
Parsons, TN 38363


Other Educational Links and Resources:
Decatur County Schools Website
Tennessee State Board of Education
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Tennessee Board of Regents
University of Tennessee System
TN Independent Universities
American School Directory
U. S. Department of Education
Tennessee School Directory
Decatur County Adult And Community Education
Center For Literacy Studies Home Page
The University of Tennessee Extension Program